Falkland Islands

South America
  • Capital
  • Languages
  • Currency
    Falklands pound (FKP)
  • Dial Code
    + 500

Facts about Falkland Islands

The Falkland Islands is an archipelago in the South Atlantic Ocean on the Patagonian Shelf. The principal islands are about 300 miles (483 kilometres) east of South America's southern Patagonian coast, at a latitude of about 52°S. The archipelago, with an area of 4,700 square miles (12,000 square kilometres), comprises East Falkland, West Falkland and 776 smaller islands. As a British overseas territory, the 'Falklands' has internal self-governance, and the United Kingdom takes responsibility for its defence and foreign affairs.